Save Citizen Schools in Charlotte

Action Alert! Save Citizen Schools in North CarolinaURGENT: Take action to save Citizen Schools in Charlotte!

Despite our relentless effort to get Citizen Schools funding reinstated in the House budget again this week, state support for Citizen Schools–and its focus on our students’ futures – is still in jeopardy.

Early this week, the House Appropriations Subcommittee of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) will finalize deliberations on their budget, which to date still excludes Citizen Schools. At the end of the week, the DHHS budget will move to the Senate for additional revision, at which stage it will be even harder to recapture our funding.

DHHS currently provides 20% of our program’s budget through the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) block grant. Without this support, our ability to serve students in Durham, Henderson, and Charlotte will be severely reduced.

We’ve heard repeatedly that our legislators want to hear from our supporters and from the educators, families, and students who have benefitted from our program. Help us to continue to set children on paths to success in school and in life - please take a minute to e-mail the following legislators to tell them to save funding for Citizen Schools.

House Committee Members Senate Committee Members Your Senators
Rep. Justin Burr justin.burr@ncleg.net Sen. Stan Bingham stan.bingham@ncleg.net Sen. Malcolm Graham malcolm.graham@ncleg.net
Rep. Nelson Dollar nelson.dollar@ncleg.net Sen. Harris Blake harris.blake@ncleg.net Sen. Bob Rucho bob.rucho@ncleg.net
Rep. William Brisson william.brisson@ncleg.net Sen. Louis Pate louis.pate@ncleg.net  
Rep. Mark Hollo mark.hollo@ncleg.net Sen. Tommy Tucker tommy.tucker@ncleg.net  
  Sen. Fletcher Hartsell fletcher.hartsell@ncleg.net  

Copy this text and use it as your Subject line:

Please Preserve Funding for Citizen Schools!

Copy this text into your message, and please add your own message to make it personal:

Dear [insert title and last name of legislator]:

I write you today to ask you NOT to cut funding for Citizen Schools in the Dept. of Health and Human Services budget.

Citizen Schools helps students throughout North Carolina by providing 400 hours of expanded learning time to middle school students, which helps them get on a path to success in high school, college and careers.

If you cut Citizen Schools, our children will have less time for learning, will achieve less, and will not have a place to go to receive high-quality, intensive supports after school. Please preserve funding for Citizen Schools so that our children can get the education they deserve.

Thank you for your leadership and for your concern for the education of North Carolina's children.

Sincerely,

[Insert your name and community]

Thank you for your commitment to education. Please share this page on Facebook or by e-mail with your friends and family in North Carolina. Every voice counts!